Platts Global Energy Awards Honor Anadarko Petroleum Corp.

Houston-based independent oil and gas exploration and production company Anadarko Petroleum Corporation was recognized at the 2009 Platts Global Energy Awards held at the Cipriani Wall Street, first as Energy Company of the Year, and then for CEO of the Year (James Hackett).

More than 500 energy executives from 20 countries attended the annual awards program on Dec. 3—now in its 11th year, and hosted by Platts, an energy and metals information provider celebrating its 100th anniversary this year. The awards honor outstanding achievement in the energy industry, recognizing corporate and individual accomplishments, innovation and entrepreneurship.

“It’s no surprise that the judges found James and his firm to be exemplary of not only leadership, but execution,” said Larry Neal, president of Platts.

The judges pointed to Anadarko’s three-year transformation following its acquisition of two major competitors, noting that with Hackett as the leader, the firm had successfully steered through numerous divestitures, exceeded its production targets, restored its balance sheet and maintained its commitment to exploration, which paid off in one of the world’s top 10 discoveries offshore Ghana.

“We at Platts congratulate each of this year’s winners, and the finalists as well, for achieving above-the-bar performance, especially in an economic environment of heightened market volatility and uncertainty,” Neal said.

The winners in a total of 17 award categories were chosen by an independent international panel of judges from a record number of nominations from 22 countries. The winning companies came from India, Italy, the Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, and the U.S.

Double honors were also bestowed on Chesapeake Energy Corporation, the Oklahoma-based natural gas exploration and production company and one of the largest natural gas producers and most active drillers of new wells in the U.S. It won 2009 Energy Producer of the Year for its expertise in shale gas plays, its high success rate in its exploration activities, and its consistent production growth for nearly 20 years. Chesapeake also garnered a second award, Industry Leadership of the Year, impressing judges with its “masterful job” campaigning for natural gas to become the fuel of the future.

The Lifetime Leadership Award was shared by Tom Casten and Lee R. Raymond. As the founder and president of several energy companies, Casten has succeeded since 1975 in simultaneously slashing power costs and greenhouse gas emissions, and as an author and the founder of numerous advocacy groups, he has precipitated policy changes that have advanced industrial energy recycling and efficiency.

During his 42-year career, Raymond, retired chairman and CEO of Exxon Mobil Corporation, set new standards for capital and cost-efficiency that have made the company the top performer it is today.

The Rising Star Award, which honors an upcoming young company for its accomplishments and potential, went to three-year-old Enzen Global Solutions Private Limited, an India-based consulting and services company. Enzen won the 2009 Rising Star Award for its meteoric financial performance, which was driven largely by its success in developing innovative solutions to reduce power theft in India, aid compliance with the UK Traffic Management Act, and help utilities companies mitigate aggregate, technical and commercial losses.

The 2009 Platts Global Energy Awards featured several new or updated categories – Green Energy Initiative of the Year, Deal of the Year; Infrastructure Project of the Year; and Energy Producer of the Year.

The awards ceremony was preceded by the third annual Platts Global Energy Outlook Forum on Dec. 2, during which industry leaders, economists and government officials held wide-ranging roundtable discussions on the outlook for sustainability.

The winners in all 17 categories were: CEO of the Year: James Hackett, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation  (USA); Commercial Technology of the Year: Repsol (Spain) – Kaleidoscope Project; Community Development Program of the Year: PTT Public Limited Company (Thailand);Deal of the Year: Enel SpA (Italy) – Endesa Acquisition ; Downstream Business of the Year: S-OIL Corporation (South Korea); Energy Company of the Year: Anadarko Petroleum Corporation (USA); Energy Efficiency Program of the Year – Consumer: Johnson & Johnson (USA); Energy Efficiency Program of the Year – Supplier: Pacific Gas and Electric Company (USA);Energy Producer of the Year: Chesapeake Energy Corporation (USA); Engineering Project of the Year: Mirant Corporation (USA)—Potomac River Generating Station Virtual Stack; ENR Energy Construction Project of the Year: Shell Exploration & Production (Netherlands) – Perdido; Green Energy Initiative of the Year: Naval Facilities Engineering Command (USA) – Energy and Water Management Program for the Department of the Navy; Industry Leadership Award: Chesapeake Energy Corporation (USA); Infrastructure Project of the Year: Entergy Corporation (USA) – New Orleans Underground Natural Gas Service Infrastructure; Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Casten, Recycled Energy Development and Lee Raymond, Exxon Mobil Corporation; Marketing Campaign of the Year: Peabody Energy (USA) – “Coal Can Do That” Campaign; Power Company of the Year: FPL Group (USA); Rising Star Award: Enzen Global Solutions Private Limited (India); Sustainable Technology Innovation of the Year: Energy Storage & Power (USA) – Energy Storage Technology.

Source: PR Newswire


Speak Your Mind