IBWA Announces Industry Awards

Leaders in the bottled water industry were recognized by the International Bottled Water Association at the organization’s 2008 IBWA Convention and Trade Show in Las Vegas this month.

IBWA recognized its 2008 Award recipients for Route Salesperson of the Year, Plant Manager of the Year and Director’s Awards and Environmental Stewardship. New this year was the IBWA Environmental Stewardship Award for small, medium and large bottled water companies that have demonstrated a strong commitment to reducing their environmental footprint, lowering energy use and delivering more easily recycled packaging.

The award recipients included:

Route Salespersons of the Year: IBWA honored three Salespersons of the Year from small, medium and large companies. Each recipient demonstrated an unyielding work ethic and strong interpersonal skills that made them stand above the crowd while maintaining their successful bottled water delivery routes. The 2008 Route Salespersons of the Year included:

  • Joey Bogus, of The Roberts Group Inc. in Huntsville, Ala. (Small-company category winner)
  • Steve Maloney, of Blue Hills Spring Water in Quincy, Mass. (Medium-company category winner)
  • Henry Sherman, of Nestle Waters of North America in Greenwich, Conn. (Large-company category winner)

    Plant Manager of the Year: The Plant Manager of the Year Awards recognize the tremendous impact plant managers have in achieving business goals and objectives for an IBWA bottler member. The recipients included:

  • Melvin Shearer, of Shinn Spring Water Co. in Birdsboro, Penn. (small-company category)
  • Tom Somers, of Deep Rock Water Co. in Denver, Colo. (medium-category company)

    IBWA Director’s Award: The IBWA Director’s Awards recognize IBWA members whose advocacy, commitment and actions on behalf of IBWA and the bottled water industry have achieved clear and measurable results. The three recipients of the IBWA Director’s Award are:

  • Philippe Caradec, of Danone Waters of America in White Plains, N.Y.
  • Joe Cimino, of Northern Springs Inc. in Exeter, N.H.
  • Donna Cirolia, of CCDA Waters in Westport, Conn.

    The IBWA Environmental Stewardship Award:

  • Small Company: Culligan of Phoenix
  • Medium Company: IPEC
  • Large Company: CCDA Waters Inc.

    “These awards recognize excellence within the bottled water industry and the IBWA membership,” said IBWA President Joe Doss. “This recognition is important because it nurtures an environment that advances the high industry standards to meet the ever-changing needs of discerning customers and businesses.”

  • Share

    Speak Your Mind