ncsa celebrates a busy 2007 annual meeting

The National Confectionery Sales Association (NCSA) has been very busy lately.

First was the introduction of eleven candy business leaders into the Candy Hall of Fame. The NCSA selected these candidates after they dedicated their careers to the industry.

The 2007 inductees were: Raymond Brace, The Hershey Co.; Allan Dudovitz, Prinsen Distributing; Charles Flavelle, R.C. Purdy Chocolates Ltd.; Anthony Gazzola, Goetze’s Candy Co., Inc.; Robert Lukas, Lukas Confections Inc.; Richard Medwar, Ferrara Pan Candy Co.; Reginald Ohlson, Reg Ohlson Consulting; Anthony Paul Richards, Knechtel, Inc. (posthumous); Dominick J. Romano, RoNetco Supermarkets, Inc.; J. William Ryan, ADM Cocoa; and Charles Trinder, Yosha! Enterprises Inc. (retired).

Along with the introduction of new Hall of Fame members, the NCSA also named six new directors during its 108th annual meeting in Tampa, FL.

Serving board terms through 2010, those elected are: John Bonnet, Orchard Sweet Foods; Chris Chase, Chase-Goldenberg Associates; Jim Corcoran, National Confectioners Association; Joe Muck, Lindt  Sprungli (USA) Inc.; Audra Vogler, Hoffman-Vogler; and Margie Walter, Haribo of America Inc.

On top of the election of new members, NCSA has also found time to give back as well. During the annual meeting, it presented five $2,500 scholarships to children of association members.

This year the number of individual scholarships rose from three to five, while actual monetary awards were increased from $1,000 to $2,500 per recipient. Reflecting this expansion, two new awards were also introduced: The Ross Colletti Memorial Scholarship in posthumous honor of NCSA Past-President Ross Colletti and the Candy Hall of Fame Founders Scholarship.


Speak Your Mind